Reflecting on this past Year.


     Christmas is right around the corner, followed by New Year’s.  It’s this time that I find myself reflecting on this year and thinking of what I want to change for the next one.  There have been so many changes this year, I’ve accomplished more than I thought I would and less than I planned.

     I made my annual pilgrimage to Texas to spend time with my adult children, my granddaughter only to discover that I had more family there than I knew.  I jumped out of an airplane with my daughter and tried sushi for the first time, as well as sake.  I like the sake more than the sushi and like the skydiving way more than the sushi.  I’m pretty sure that I shouldn’t have done both on the same day however.

     I found my worth and value as a human being in Texas.  Given that I seem to be a perpetual patient I didn’t think I had any anymore, but I found out otherwise.  I learned that I still have something of value to offer beyond being sick, and I also learned that how I feel about myself relates to how I’m doing physically.  For the first time while I was in Texas I didn’t have to go to the hospital.

     I also made another trip, this one to New York.  It was my second time there and I learned that I could still travel and have a good time with my family.  I also met Kelsey Grammar and Betty White, that was a hoot.  I also learned not to take my shoes off on the plane because there was no way I was going to get them back on.  I also learned that if I leave my left overs in the hotel room while walking Times Square with Sarah, my husband was going to eat it all, including my cheese cake.

     I don’t know how many times I was in ICU this year, I lost count.  It feels like it might be less than last year and I’m hoping more than next year.

     I lost my best friend this year and I miss her every day.  I also found closure in helping another friend, no daughter find closure in a horrific part of her life and now she is able to put it behind her and move forward.

     I’ve found some friends in the blogosphere and made old friends new again.  I’ve also gotten my sister and her crazy girlfriend out of my house, and if that was the only thing I accomplished, believe me it would be enough.

     What can I say about my husband?  We’ve been together 17 years now and it seems that our love just grows deeper.  He’s sweeter and kinder than ever and I love him.  As my caretaker he has more patience than I give him credit for.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on this past Year.

  1. Skydiving? You went skydiving? Wow. Must be so cool.

    Sounds like you had some fun times and your husband sounds so sweet. Obviously, he is one of your greatest blessings. 🙂 I am about an hr from ny (live in mtns of nj)m give or take a bit due to traffic, but we never go because not city drivers. of course could take a train or bus in. My girlfriedn routinely takes a train and shops ..to quote her, “In the bowels of the store.” I call her a professional shopper. She foes with her backpack and knows how to get the most amazing bargains. 400.00 leather bomber jacket reduced from 400 to 50 ..that kind of thing. One of her daughter’s used to decorate the Macy’s Christmas windows, but has since moved up in the corp. My knees hold me back from all that shopping tho. She’s always trying to get me to go to the flower show too.

    I was doing alright regarding losing my friend in Oct. i recall we share that experience …losing a close friend. But ..when Christmas hit ..I have been feeling it even more since then. I think becuase sometimes months might go buy where we hardly talked ..but ALWAYS connected at Christmas and I would hear about her holiday and she mine if we didn’t get together. Also ..if we got busy and were off doing our own things and didn’t talk …we would definitely connect by now. I find myself wanting to tell her so many things and it is so frustrating, surreal and sometimes I even feel mad. All pointless because it is what it is. Just that having her in my life 52 yrs ..since I was 4 and now not able to hear her laugh, share a joke only we would get, talk or even just laugh and sigh simultaneously like two bookends …*sigh*. I know you understand. Sorry for going on about it.

    Nothing could ever make me try sushi – haha! I’m glad you had such a nice time. 🙂

    • It’s okay, I miss my friend too, the holidays were especially hard and I find myself wanting to pick up the phone and call her, then I remember.

      Skydiving was seriously the scariest thing I’ve ever done and I’m s glad I did it but I think this year that a hot air balloon ride is looking better and better. The one good thing the sushi place had was a coconut, crab soup that was amazing. The raw tuna…not so much. Thanks for stopping by, it’s always good to talk to you.

Leave a Reply

