What am I Worth


      Since I’ve come home from Texas I’ve tried to think about how I was going to write this post.  Every year I come home with lessons learned about myself. 

    As someone with multiple chronic illnesses, it can be tempting to succumb to the notion that you no longer have anything to offer to anyone anymore.  It’s easy to feel sorry for yourself, yet I’m constantly reminded there are so many worse off than I am, and ultimately how lucky I am.  

     My adult children in Texas have friends that have embraced me and welcomed me as part of their family and make me feel so loved.  One in particular lives with my son, another roommate, and her mother who is living with stage 4 colon cancer.  This is a women caring for her mother and doing it with grace and dignity beyond her 24 years, and her mother is a remarkable woman I’m lucky to have met.

     My oldest daughter in Texas calls me anytime she’s troubled and tells me that she always benefits from my experiences.  I’ve found my value and worth in helping and advising the many people in my life who call me mom.  There are far more than I’ve given birth to, but I consider my children none the less.  A single mother stressed to her breaking point, I was able to tell her that I’ve been there and I know how hard it is.

      There are days when I’ve felt that I’m just taking up space and not contributing as a human being to the greater good.  I’m at peace realizing that’s not the case.  It bears repeating, I still have value and worth, I can still love, and give love and make my little corner of the world a better place just by being here.

Leave a Reply

