What Went Right, What Went Wrong This Time


         I’ve been home from the hospital now for 2 weeks, I was planning to go to the International Housewares Show in Chicago on March 7th but I got sick instead.  I was in bed for the 2 days earlier with severe nausea, but no vomiting.  I thought I would be okay and be able to ride it out.  When I had to cancel my trip my husband wanted me to go to the hospital, but I told him since I wasn’t vomiting I didn’t really think I needed to go.  My sugars in the morning were 127 so I really didn’t think I was that sick.  I did tell him that if I started vomiting I would go.  Sure enough at around 5 I started throwing up, and from the minute I started, I couldn’t stop.

     My sister-in-law drove me to the small town hospital I usually go to and we had to stop at a gas station on the way so I could use the facilities and walking back to the car I noticed I was very short of breath and it felt like it was a struggle to breathe, at that point I started getting scared.  It surprised me how quickly it took me to feel very very ill.  I got into an exam room pretty quickly and it didn’t take long for the doctor to order and IV, and some meds for the vomiting and the pain.  Gaining IV access and even blood draws was an absolute nightmare!  It took over 33 sticks, before I lost count.  The doctor was even in there trying to tap a vein in my feet without success.  I had gotten spoiled by my port-a-cath.  I was begging them at this point to call the surgeon in to drop a central line, but it seems nobody wanted to wake him up.

     The doctor finally ordered phenergan IM and Dilaudid subcutaneously, but I was still vomiting and still in pain.  The lab tech couldn’t even get a blood draw through my feet, which speaks to their desperation, because foot tapping a diabetic is a big no-no.  I knew at this point I was going to be admitted and the ER doctor told me she was calling the surgeon to get my port replaced in the morning.  We finally got IV access and when my labs came back the doctor decided I needed to be transferred to Indianapolis.  The tried to get me on a med-flight but it was too windy so they got in touch with advanced life support and I was transported via ambulance.  I was smart this time though, I told then I was NOT going without a foley catheter!  I still remember the fiasco during my last ambulance ride when I had to pee standing up doing 70, trying to aim, balance, and holding my paper gown closed.  I was not going through that again.  I’ll tell you the rest of the story in my next post.

Leave a Reply

