Time to Talk about it.


     I guess it’s time to talk about it.  Right before Thanksgiving I got really sick in a way that I’ve never been before.  I went to the hospital I usually go to and it was pretty quickly determined that I needed to go to Indianapolis by ambulance.  By the time the ambulance arrived I’d had about 4 bags of saline IV run wide open.  This will be important later.

     It was about a 3 hour trip and it became clear halfway there that they should have put a foley catheter in because I had to pee in the worst way.  There were no bed pans and as much as I begged the paramedics they would not pull over at a gas station so I could pee while wearing my paper gown and carrying my IV bag.  So picture this.  I have to pee standing up in the ambulance doing 79  mph while trying to hold my paper gown closed and using the same hand to balance on the wall while peeing into what could best be described as a diaper wipe container.  I also made the medic crawl into the front seat with his partner.  I have to say I’m pretty pissed (pun intended) about the whole damn issue.  My next post will be all about the new disease I managed to get requiring another surgery.

5 thoughts on “Time to Talk about it.

  1. Wow ..that must’ve been quite the challenge!

    I’ve had to give so many urine specimens that I joke it’s as natural as breathing and my aim is perfect every time. But at 79 miles and hour? That would be a challenge ..all the bouncing. I think I would’ve had to sacrifice my dignity for aim tho. 🙂

    I’m sorry you are going through difficult health issues.

  2. I really appreciate reading and commenting, so first of all Thank you both. I can always use the good wishes and fortunatly I’ve been blessed with an excellent sense of humor, and no my aim was definitly less than perfect. It was the first time I ever wished for a foley

    • I like foleys at night. Because then I don’t have to get up to make whizzie winkles at 3 am and 6 an and so on. 🙂

      Of course ..I really never want a foley either. But sleeping thru the night was a perk. Always a trade off! 🙂

      Once after having a uro procedure ..I left with a foley. That night at home and with percocet ..I was having the most horrendous bladder spasms. So ..bad that I actually sat on the toilet and tried to tinkle for relief ..even though I could see the urine going down the tube, into the bag. I called the urodoc on call 3 days in a row. i would n-n-e-v-e-r do that, which shows the pain level.

      I’ve found writing about med stuff often with humor and sometimes even fantasy ..is a cathartic venting process. 🙂

      • Sarcasm doesn’t hurt either…lol. I too remember being able to sleep all night without having to get up 4 times to pee. My ship has sailed on aging gracefully with a smidgen of dignity

Leave a Reply

