Circling the Drain


     I haven’t been able to get out of bed for the past 3 days, I’m trying to manage without going to the hospital, but my husband is starting to worry.  He says I look like I’m wasting away on him.  I didn’t think I had lost any weight but I got up and stepped on the scale and I’m down to about 119.  Now I’m starting to worry, I made a Dr.’s appt but if I don’t start feeling better soon I’m going to have to hit the ER and I’m just dreading it.  I’m getting so tired of being in the hospital, nice nurse with the needle full of dilaudid aside.

     Last month we were in Chicago renewing our wedding vows and the night before I ended up in the ER in downtown Chicago.  When I walked in there must have been 150 people in the waiting room and I thought I was going to be there all night.  To their credit they triaged my within minutes and classified me as  high priority so I was in a room within 30 minutes.  They poured fluids into me and the doctor tried really hard to get me to stay.  Told him “No can do” and he said he wanted to make a deal with me.  He was going to draw my labs again and if they showed no improvement I would stay overnight.  If they showed any improvement he would let me go and I would go to my hospital when I got home, and that’s exactly what happened.  That was barely a month ago and I feel myself circling the drain already.

Leave a Reply

