Changes


     My youngest daughter Sarah is graduating from High School this year and is planning to go to college in Texas in the fall.  You would think  after all the kids I’ve raised  when it was time for the last one to leave the nest, that I would be right behind her nudging her out the door with my foot.  I find I don’t want to let her go.  I’m going to, of course but I’m just not ready for our relationship to change.

     Without a doubt raising Sarah has been my honor and my privilege.  She has exasperated, frustrated, delighted, horrified and amazed me, quite often all at the same time.  She has taken care of me when I’ve been sick.  After school she would walk over to the hospital and spend the night with me.  She would visit the elderly patients that were alone and follow the nurses handing out jello.

     If anyone deserves to go out into the world and see what it has to offer, she does.  I will forever miss her sitting on the edge of my bed telling me about her day.  She will always have my utmost support and my faith in her goodness is never-ending.  I know you’re going to read this, my daughter and just let me tell you again how proud I am of you and the young woman who you have become.  I will never forget everything that you’ve done for me.  Thank you for being my daughter and for the close relationship that we have.  I’m so excited for your future!

     Be bold in your choices and do not let fear guide your decisions.  Don’t be afraid to fail, just learn from it and then move on.  You will be beyond my reach,  but never beyond my heart.  Jump!

2 thoughts on “Changes

  1. This is an awesome post! It really sounds like your daughter is a great person and that you have been truly blessed. It also sounds like she is very lucky to have such a loving mother.
    Being that I have a 4 year old that drives me crazy at times, I really need to relish the experiences I have with her because some day I will be writing a similar post…:(

Leave a Reply

